Half Marathon Training is Hard- A Definite Understatement

I’ve officially started to “train” for the Rock and Roll half marathon in November and lets just say its been super hard since I live in the desert and the average is 100 degrees. Why would I want to run 13.1 miles for fun, you may ask? I have no idea. A lot of the reasons for why I run have to do with self-acceptance and self-love, but running a half marathon would be the start of a whole new relationship with running; a relationship I believe I’m ready for. That relationship is one of commitment. I know, I know- commitment. What the hell is that? It’s something that I usually run away from, but this time I’m running towards it and it feels glorious.

I’ve read numerous articles since buying my way into the race- blood blisters, chafing until you bleed, toenails falling off, cramping, and numerous other fun things that happen to your body and sometimes I’m super hyped about it and other times I start to freak out. Can I really do it? Will my body give out?  Will I be able to do it in less than 3 hours? Will I even be able to finish the race? The answer is yes, I can. Only 24 miles for June as of today, but I’m hoping to get to thirty by Saturday and have at least 10 miles for the weekend… we’ll see how it goes. Happy running!

3 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training is Hard- A Definite Understatement

  1. Daniel Moore

    I remember doing my first half marathon a few years ago and hated running. I done it to get me fit and now I’ve done 5 marathons. You have to take small steps when starting out running is my advice. Try and get the fitness up by mixing your workouts, cycling swimming, squats, lunges. I used to try and do 5 k on a treadmill 2 or 3 times through the week and then one long run on the weekend, 5+ miles. Eating healthy helps a lot also.

    • Brittney

      Awesome advice! I’m currently doing some cross training (mostly weight training and going to start yoga soon). Currently, I do 2-3 5k runs during the week and 2 10k runs during the weekend. I’m nervous mostly about the mental aspect of it, but trying to slowly work through it! Any advice on that end? I usually listen to music to help focus on something other than being exhausted.

      • Daniel Moore

        Hi, your plan looks great! Cross training and yoga will give you a rest from running so I would do this on your ‘rest day/s’ . I would say one long run is enough for your weekly plan. Start building up the distance of your long run and your pace when you feel you can. Listening to music to get mentally focused helps a lot for me aswell, it’s a good idea to make a playlist of all your favourite running songs. Listening to podcasts, audiobooks helps to keep you focused and you are learning something at the same time! A lot of running is in your mind, remind yourself before your run that it is going to make you improve, make you strong and feel more energetic once done. If you are exhausted you are probably pushing to hard, do more easy runs then hard. Make sure that you are eating right and drinking enough water before and after training. Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

